Exams, Qualifications and Assessment

The college is a recognised examination centre for the following examination bodies:

  • State Examinations Commission (SEC)*
  • Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI formerly FETAC)*
  • City of Dublin Education and Training Board (CDETB)*
  • European Computer Driving Licence (ECDL)*
  • International Therapy Examination Council (ITEC)*


*State Examinations Commission (SEC)

The State Examinations Commission is the body this is responsible for organising all second level state examinations.  Each year, towards the end of the second term, the State Examinations Commission (SEC) publishes a Candidate Information Booklet on the Leaving Certificate examination for that year.  These booklets are made available to all students and can be obtained from the Porters’ desk, the General Office or from the tutors.  Candidates should familiarise themselves with the contents, including the rules and regulations for running the examinations.  For further information see www.examinations.ie.


*QQI – Quality assurance

QQI validates programmes and satisfies itself of the college’s capacity to monitor, evaluate and improve the quality of the programmes and services offered to learners.  QQI in partnership with Pearse College has in place a system of policies and procedures to assure the continuous evaluation, updating and improvement of all college services.


*QQI – It’s importance

All first year Post Leaving Certificate courses in the College offer QQI/FETAC Level 5 Major Awards.  Some second year courses in Pearse College offer Advanced Certificate QQI/FETAC Level 6 Major Awards.  All awards are nationally recognised and are routes to employment, higher education and further training.  Further Education students who successfully complete a relevant QQI/FETAC Award are eligible to apply for reserved places on certain DIT and IT courses under the Higher Education Links scheme.  Under this scheme, thousands of places are reserved for students who have achieved QQI/FETAC Level 5 Major Awards.  Graduates of Pearse College can gain entry to third level in thirty five institutions, for examples the Institutes of Technology, the Universities and private colleges, including DCU, DIT, IT Carlow, Mater Dei College, National College of Art and Design, NUI Maynooth, IT Tallaght, University College, Cork and Unversity College Dublin.  Course tutors will provide information on the courses available through the Higher Links scheme.  Further information and advice can be obtained from the Career Guidance Counsellors.  Applications can then be made to the Central Applications Office (CAO) in the normal way.  Application forms must be returned to the CAO by 1st February.

To achieve a full QQI/FETAC Level 5 Major Award a student must pass at least eight minor components.  In general, each of the subjects corresponds to a minor component.  For each major award there are mandatory minor components.  At present, there is no provision for autumn repeat examinations.


National Framework Of Qualifications

The National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) offers a framework through which all learning achievements can be easily compared and valued. The framework has 10 levels. Level 1 relates to a basic level of learning. Level 10 equates to a Ph.D. Qualifications that are no longer available, such as the Primary, Group and Intermediate Certificates are also placed on the NFQ. Pearse College College of Further Education offers programmes at levels 4, 5 and 6. Graduates of the college benefit from having easily understood qualifications that belong to a single national coherent system and which accord with European and international developments.


*City of Dublin Education and Training Board (www.cdetb.ie)

Pearse College of Further Education is a constituent college of City of Dublin Education and Training Board (CDETB).  Each student in the college is bound by the General Rules and Regulations of CDETB.

The VEC system was established under the Vocational Education Act of 1930.  CDETB is responsible for 23 schools and colleges in the city and for Youthreach Centres, Adult Education Centres, CDETB Psychological Service, CDETB Creches, Travellers’ Training Centres and Centres of Education in Prisons.